New Aged Care Quality Standards

New Aged Care Quality Standards | Aged Care Weekly

The Australian government released the final draft for the new Aged Care Quality Standards on June 4th. This single set of standards will apply to all aged care services, focussing on consumer experience and ease of information in aged care.

Stakeholders have indicated that “a cultural shift is required” with “a greater emphasis on consumer outcomes” in the aged care sector, according to a Department of Health report released in July 2017.

A single quality framework

The new standards will replace the:

  • Accreditation Standards
  • Home Care Standards
  • National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flexible Aged Care Program Quality Framework Standards
  • Transition Care Standards


The Aged Care Quality Standards were informed by aged care providers, the public, and key stakeholders. Importantly, the Quality Agency consulted aged care consumers across Australia who represented a diverse range of community groups. These included people with dementia, LGBTI consumers, CALD consumers, vulnerable consumers and their advocates, and those in residential care.

To stay informed about aged care quality, subscribe to the Quality Standard newsletter. For updates on the development of the final Aged Care Quality Standards subscribe to Quality Agency Policy Updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.